The Fifth Asia Pacific Corpus Linguistics Conference will be held at Yonsei University, Seoul, South Korea, February 11-14, 2020

Fifth Asia Pacific Corpus Linguistics Conference (APCLC 2020)

The biennial Asia-Pacific Corpus Linguistics Conference is now entering the fifth round with Seoul 2020, following upon the successes of Auckland 2012, Hong Kong 2014, Beijing 2016, and Takamatsu 2018. APCLC 2020 will be a gathering of academics and practitioners in corpus linguistics from the Asia Pacific area, where we talk about developments in the use of corpora in discourse analysis, lexical & grammatical studies, language acquisition, learning & education, lexicography, pragmatics & sociolinguistics, (machine) translation studies, and (digital) literary studies. We hope APCLC 2020 to be a forum for exchange in ideas and expertise, where we lay the foundations for future developments in the application of corpus resources in Asia and the Pacific. To this effect, we will highlight three specific areas for future development: new methods in textual data analyses; possible collaboration between academia and industry; and natural corpora in Asia. Please join us in Seoul, APCLC 2020.

Important Dates
- March 18, 2019: Call for papers
- July 31, 2019: Deadline for abstracts
- September 13, 2019: Notification of acceptance
- September 16, 2019: Early-bird registration opens
- January 10, 2020: Early-bird registration closes
- February 10, 2020: Pre-conference workshops
- February 11-14, 2020: Main conference (February 14, 2020: National Corpus Day) - February 15, 2020: Excursion
List of Topics
- Corpora & Discourse Analysis
- Corpora & Lexical Studies
- Corpora & Grammatical Studies
- Corpora & Language Acquisition, Learning & Education
- Corpora & Lexicography
- Corpora & Pragmatics
- Corpora & Sociolinguistics
- Corpora & (Machine) Translation Studies
- Corpora & (Digital) Literary Studies.
Plenary Speakers
- Sylviane Granger (Université Catholique de Louvain – UCLouvain, Belgium)
- David Hoover (New York University, USA)
- Mark Davies (Brigham Young University, USA)
- Vaclav Brezina (Lancaster University, UK)
- Hong Won Suh (Yonsei University, Korea)
Keynote Speakers
- Michael Barlow (University of Auckland, New Zealand)
- Mark Brenchley (Cambridge Assessment, UK)
- Winnie Cheng (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong)
- Jae-Woong Choe (Korea University, Korea)
- Jong-Bok Kim (Kyung Hee University, Korea)
- Heokseung Kwon (Seoul National University, Korea)
- Seok-Chae Rhee (Yonsei University, Korea)
- Ute Römer (Georgia State University, USA)
- Naixing Wei (Beihang University, China)
The conference will be held at Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea (
All questions about submissions should be emailed to
Hosted by
- Asia Pacific Corpus Linguistics Association (APCLA)
- Korean Association for Corpus Linguistics (KACL)
Organized by
- BK21Plus Project, Department of English Language and Literature, Yonsei University
- Institute of Language and Information Studies (ILIS), Yonsei University
Abstracts must be submitted via EasyChair (


The Asia Pacific Corpus Linguistics Association aims to promote the study and development of corpus linguistics research and applications in the Asia-Pacific Region. Through the website, the Association provides news on organisations and conferences related to corpus linguistics. One important purpose of the Association is to maintain the continuity of the Asia Pacific Corpus Linguistics Conferences and to provide a mechanism for selecting the location of future conferences.

Inaugural APCLC (2012)

The First Asia Pacific Corpus Linguistics Conference was held at the University of Auckland in New Zealand in 2012. For more information, go to the conference website or view a presentation of conference photos.


Random foliage

The Korean Association for Corpus Linguistics held its inaugural meeting in December 2012 at Pusan National University in Busan.

Steering Committee for APCLA

A steering committee has been formed in order to create an institutional structure for the holding of future conferences in the Asia-Pacific region. The following corpus linguists have agreed to take part in the committee.

Michael Barlow (chair)
Monika Bednarek
Winnie Cheng
Hitoshi Isahara
CK Jung
Deny Kwary
Yukio Tono
Naixing Wei